How To Learn to Play Golf Without Getting Frustrated

Close-up of Golf Club and Golf Ball

Hello, Ryan here, and I am writing today about how to learn the  most frustrating yet most rewarding sport.

I have played every sport from hockey to soccer to baseball my whole life. However, I have decided that it is time to gear towards the future and learn how to play golf. Golf is a sport that you could play for the rest of your life and is a great chance for networking in the business world which I will be entering soon. The first time I ever played golf was four years ago. I went out with a few of my friends and thought it was a sport where I could just wing it. My scorecard proved otherwise. I became very frustrated and decided golf wasn’t for me. This was when I was still in high school and had much less patience. Now I am in college and have a greater appreciation for the sport. Two of my roommates for the summer golf a few times a week which sparked an old interest in the sport.

An example of a perfect drive

I started off  looking online for tips on how to swing a golf club properly and different drills to correct my wing. Then I started going to the driving range with my two roommates so they could give me pointers. I kept slicing the ball when I used my driver which made me extremely frustrated. This is where high school Ryan would have called it quits and picked up a new sport. However, I took it as a challenge to correct the slice and perfect my swing. I thought back how long it took me to fix my baseball swing. It took me years to learn the optimal baseball swing and here I was becoming frustrated after only golfing twice in the last four years. One bystander by the driving range came

Hopefully I can be as good as Phil Mickelson one day

up to me and told me that I had an open club head which is why I was slicing it. After adjusting, the golf ball went considerably straighter.

Whenever I find myself  just sitting around in my apartment I take my golf club and practice my swing over and over. I figure that I will become the best golfer I can be when the swinging the club is second nature to me. It is slowly starting to become less awkward which means I have been improving. I plan on going to the driving range a few more times before I venture on the golf course. I am just waiting for that first swing where I make perfect contact with the ball, hear that loud ping, and watch it go far. The last few blogs I have offered a piece of advice at the end. If I could give one piece of advice concerning how to learn golf, it would be to take it as a challenge. You will have your whole life to play golf. If it only takes you two years to get your swing down, you will still have almost 40 years to enjoy the sport. The most important part of picking up the game of golf is to RELAX. Practice does really make perfect. It may take a little more time than you would think to become good, but then again “Rome wasn’t built in one day”.

Tags:

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “How To Learn to Play Golf Without Getting Frustrated”

  1. August 5, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    I totally agree golf can be frustrating at times, but when you hit that perfect drive off the tee there is no better feeling. I fell in love with golf the first time I picked up a club. When I got to high school I immediately sign up for golf. Going to the range, may at times be boring, because you want to be out at the course. What I like to do is imagine that I am playing. I get my driver, hit a ball, then get my iron, then wedge. It really helps.

    Jlopezjr04@How to swing a golf club tips

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

